Paul Bordeau Award

Paul Bordeau Distinguished Service Award

The legendary Paul Bourdeau, a founding member of the WCSOA, passed away in Texas on Dec. 31, 2017 at the age of 87. Paul was not only an instrumental force in developing the WCSOA, he was also a top-level high school and college official and longtime fixture at major games in Connecticut and around the country.

His soccer officiating achievements are too numerous to list here, and the awards he was given too countless to recall. What better way to honor Paul than through his own words. Below are pages from a detailed biography he had prepared on his career. Read through as he takes you on his incredible officiating journey.

TRIBUTE: Read story on Bourdeau's great career

Click here to download and read Paul Bourdeau's complete resume

The Paul Bourdeau Award is presented at our annual banquet for distinguished service to soccer.

Paul Bourdeau Distinguished Service Award Winners:

2023 - Mike Madden, St Paul Assitant AD

2017 - Mark Berkowitz, Weston A.D.

2016 - Rick McWilliams, Millbrook School

2015 - Joe Velardi, Pomperaug A.D.

2014 - Bob DeSantis, Bristol Central

2013 - Charlie Sharos, CIAC

2012 - Bill Sweet, Bristol Eastern

2011 - George Tirado, Wilby H.S.A.D.

2010 - Chip Salvestrini, AD.Danbury, New Milford, Ridegfield

2009 - Art Hamm, W.C.S.O.A.Interpreter

2008 - Ray Behr, Chase Collegiate School AD & Coach

2007 - Scott McCarty, Forman School A.D.& Coach

2006 - Michael Savage.C.I.A.C.Executive Director

2005 -  Rick Wilson, Waterbury Republican-American sports writer

2004 - Greg Andrulis, Columbus Crew Head Coach

2003 - Kristine Lilly, Women's U.S.National Team

2002 - Ken Hoagland, Lewis Mills H.S., A.D.; Bob Suchy, New Fairfield H.S.A.D.

2001   Gary Donaldson, Danbury; Jim Scully, Wolcott H.S.A.D.

2000   Andy Pitonak, Official

1999   Jim Dolan, Joel Barlow

1998   Jim Trocolla, Danbury H.S.boys and girls coach

1997   Larry Ashmore, Newtown; Tony Gorman, Abbott Tech former coach and A.D., retired

1995   John Giampalo, Masuk and A.D.; Ralph King, Brien McMahon and A.D.

1994   Joe DelBuono, Wolcott , W.C.S.O.A.commissioner, and C.S.O.A.president; Phil Lyga, Terryville

1993   Tom Moylan, Bristol Central coach

1992   Al.Taubert, Newtown Youth/Adult Soccer

1991   Charlie Caroll., CT Junior Soccer Assoc., NW District V.P.

1986   Dana Jewett, Litchfield; Jim Stout, Danbury News Times

1983   Robert Dikranian,

1982   Joseph Morrone, UConn coach

1981   Dave Coughlin, Hotchkiss School coach; Tom Nevers,

1980   Dan Garame11a, Abbott Tech coach; Guido Tino, New Fairfield

1979   Robert Broderick, Nonnewaug .H.S.,coach; Robert Cook, Watertown H.S., coach; Joseph Copeland, Volunteer Soccer Enthusiast

1978   Brian Kelley, official; Bob Sveda, Newtown H.S., coach; Pete Vibert, Northwest Reg.H.S., coach

1977   John Coffin, Canterbury coach

1976   Albie Loefflerr, Qfficial, Staples

Scroll to Top